FILM Camera Shutter Speed Tester, Ext Light Meter

• Be sure to checkout “Tips & Tricks”
    Dear Guest Visitor → Once you register and log-in:

This forum does not automatically send notices of new content. So if, for example, you would like to be notified by mail when Steve posts an update to his blog (or of any other specific activity anywhere else), you need to tell the system what to “Watch” for you. Please checkout the “Tips & Tricks” page for details about that... and other tips!

/Steve.

rfrazier

Sep 30, 2020
Hi all. This is definitely off topic for @Steve 's normal fare for this group. But, then again, that's why it's in the off topic forum. Still, it just might tweak the interest of some of you.

I am an amateur photographer that now has 3 fairly nice entry level digital cameras: Canon 250D / SL3, Canon M50, and Canon SX170.

BUT, recently, my wife picked up a 40-50 year old Mamiya 35mm FILM camera. The 500 TL. I've been researching how to get it up and running. Unfortunately, the light meter is inop even with a new battery. I spent a good bit of time trying to find a small affordable external light meter. I've got the following one on order, which looks pretty cool:

Thought I'd pass that free tip along. But, I need some help from you. I also want to test the speed accuracy of the shutter. That's where it gets more complicated. I've been having an extremely hard time finding a competent gadget to do this. I really don't want to build it myself. I did find a device called a PhotoPlug which plugs into a phone or tablet microphone jack and links with an app on the phone. This will be better than nothing, and I've ordered one.