C and assembly/symbols and debugging, question and a discussion

• Be sure to checkout “Tips & Tricks”
    Dear Guest Visitor → Once you register and log-in:

This forum does not automatically send notices of new content. So if, for example, you would like to be notified by mail when Steve posts an update to his blog (or of any other specific activity anywhere else), you need to tell the system what to “Watch” for you. Please checkout the “Tips & Tricks” page for details about that... and other tips!

/Steve.

Jul 19, 2021
Hello All,

I have been a junior level C# developer since 2016. I programmed in qbasic and a little bit of c plus plus in high school and I will be 37 this year so I am starting assembler a little late. I had a math teacher in high school who introduced me to assembly, I think it was a 68000 cpu and called a heath kit that’s all I remember. This last week, I’ve been using Windows System Programming by Johnson M. Hart to understand windows better. I’ve also found archive.org is good for “Win32” programming, most books being 9x/NT4 and Win2000, but they seem to run fine on my killer Win10 machine with Visual Studio 2015. While learning the “Win32” api I am sticking with C mostly as I am wanting to cover the API directly and QUICKLY. I keep making mess after mess. Those messes seem like a no in coding and certainly assembly coding. Thinking about that, tonight I took a break to see if I could get OllyDbg to pick up the C source and disassembly of a very poorly written Win32 C program. It is actually the first Win32 program I have ever successfully written after a few failed attempts in MASM32. Does anyone know if Visual Studio or Hutch’s MASM32 can or will, with 32 bit assembly, produce the PDB files necessary to debug x86 assembly rather than the C shown here? Part of my original barrier to learning assembly was that I didn’t understand how to get a debugger working well and didn’t have much time to figure it out. Based on this screen shot I might h